Introduction - A growing Art room?

Hi everyone!

I´m Linda and I am a designer, Couture Artist, Guest Lecturer AND I am NEW HERE!

I´ve met Hugi and some of you before and I am looking forward to moving in.
With me I´d like to bring my growing materials that I am working on for an upcoming exhibition at Sven-Harrys next year and some other future projects.

Mainly I use dried petals and bio-synthetic textiles that I grow of hibiscus and sugar in small containers to create a symbiotic bacteria and yest culture, also named Kombucha leather (yes, you can drink it and it does not get moldy!)
Completely harmless and biodegradable, but sometimes a little vinaigrette odor.

I also have a small ongoing silk experiment to create my own grown Peace silk.
This includes a small plastic container of silkworms 20x20cm that are happily chewing mulberry chow and growing rapidly and hopefully soon they´ll start spinning flat on a structered surface (35 x45 cm) before they metamorphoses into small butterflies, mate and end their life cycle peacefully.
These little silky buddies do not like to be disturbed much and are fully harmless.
They do not like germs and are quite fragile, so I basically need to look after them daily to make sure they have the right temp, humidity and a clean home. (And no they can not fly ones they´ll become butterfly moths.) If you are curios, I am happy to send you some links about raising silkworms etc.

SO this was short about me. I am wondering if anyone have questions and if you are all up for “Ett Levande Rum” or a Living corner somewhere at Blivande.

I would love to move in very soon!

3 Likes

Welcome home!!

2 Likes

Welcome Linda! I’m personally really stoked about the idea of “growing art”, as I myself studied biotechnology engineering and have dabbled in synthetic biology. I am personally really impressed by your art. I mean, look at this! Stunning.