Consent at the Node/Blivande/Borderland/Small_Burns

Dear community,

For the past two years, I have been opening up my time to support people that have been involved in consent breaches. Both the one who’s boundaries were overstepped and those who overstepped someones boundaries. I am starting to notice, that I feel quite lost in these processes. I am not a professional, rather “only” a person with big heart.

We do not have thousands of cases, but I noticed now, that I do feel quite alone when it comes to supporting the incidences and being there until the support is not needed anymore. Don’t get me wrong, I choose to be there and I want to be there. What I need is a bit more of a community to hold me, when I am not available and thus those that need it in the moment.

I am struggling to find and define the boundaries for the help that we as non-professionals can offer to community members. I am also struggling with the very individual nature of the cases, which makes every case feel like “the first time I am doing this.”

I have reached out to organisations like storasyster and novahuset, who have a lot of experience in these instances and hope that we can get some help finding the boundaries of community involvement possible in consent cases. I hope that we can organize an event/training around this with these groups/organisations, that have been around and handling cases like this for a long time. I wrote them the following:

My name is Diana and I am a very active member in the community in and around House Blivande (blivande.com). I part of the board of Noden (noden.community) a förening that co-creates events, workshop and happenings on a non-profit basis.

We are also closely linked to a nordic festival called the Borderland that is also a non-profit participatory culture event.